Letter from Jane Lennox Higgins (‘Auntie Lennie’) to my mother: 11 October 1960

My mother kept this letter as the last letter she received from Lennie (below) before her death. Lennie was Ralph Erskine’s widow who subsequently married Douglas Lyall Grant. 

16 Lancaster Road, Wimbledon SW 19

My dear Zoe,

Your letter came about 8 am this morning & was of great help to me & I felt stronger after reading it as today we were setting out on a sad journey. Dear Katie (Kate Olver, renowned artist and wife of Lennie’s brother Charles Higgins) died on Saturday – she had been unconscious for 48 hours with a high temperature & for some weeks had been almost unaware of where she was and who came or went – there were complications & more than she could fight against & she went out quietly & gently as she had lived.

She was one of the finest characters I have known & her life was one of selfless devotion. The funeral (cremation) was at the west London Cemetery near the hospital where she died. Charles has borne himself very bravely but looked very old and worn out today. I wanted him to come back with us but he said he would not come tonight but later on. Jill, Kate’s brother’s daughter & who so often sat for Katie, was going back with him this evening. The announcement was in the Times and D Telegraph on Monday but expect your paper is the Guardian. I was deeply interested in the splendid achievements of Robert & also to hear of Rosalind’s musical talent. I seldom hear nowadays of anyone learning to play the piano & I hope she will keep it up with (or without) a scholarship.

I realise how much of your time is taken up with your house and garden & other interests but if you could sneak  for even 2 nights you could stay here and we could go to ‘The Caretaker’ – Daphne & 2 children are to be here from night of Monday 24th to Friday 28th inclusive, apart from that you can come any time you like.

I can’t wrote more now, I am very tired but I wanted you to know about Katie as soon as possible.

My love to you both

Auntie Lennie

Kate Olver (above) was 79 when she died. Her husband Charles Higgins lived for another 20 years. Two months later, Lennie died on 28 December aged 69. 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Other Family History

Leave a comment