Letter from Arch to Nancy: 25 February 1918

By late February Ralph’s death must have been confirmed. 

My dear Nance,

I have just dropped a line to Lennie & to Daddy. Words seem so futile when thinking about what has happened.

What can one say to comfort – smash, smash & smash again & yet the last loss is terrible to think of. One cannot surely feeling these hurts for ever. Here in an immediate family are gone four of the very best that are fashioned, and the young ones wading in. It makes me almost a coward.

You were great pals & I know you have some fine memories of that fine lad. Be as happy as you can in your memories. I wish you were with us again so that we could do a little bit to help

Kiss the nipper* for me & give my love to his dear mother.

Yours

Arch

*My father will have just had his first birthday. 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Other letters to Nancy

Leave a comment